“Why do you write?” he asked me.  It’s an excellent question and one that doesn’t have a simple or a single answer. Sometimes I write because I have something of importance to impart – in my humble opinion. Sometimes I write to lessen the weight of thoughts that are weighing me down. Sometimes it’s because I simply have to communicate and writing is the best way for me to do so.  Sometimes I am driven. Sometimes I want to share the joy of life. At other times grief has me by the throat and I cannot express the pain in any other way – writing allows me to breathe again.  I don’t know. Writing is simply an extension of my self.  It is a way of sharing my thoughts and ideas; of celebrating the human spirit, or mourning a lack of compassion.  Writing is as natural to me as breathing so I guess the answer for me is why not ….

Leave a Reply

