port-aux-basques-nl-canada

Well 2016 certainly held a lot of challenges, but here it is New Year’s Day, a time to reflect and move on. Life has taught me much over the past year; the main thing that I learned (or not so much learned but had affirmed) is that people really are awesome. I live in Fort McMurray where fires caused a huge evacuation last spring. The resulting response was one of generosity and human kindness that I will remember all the days of my life.

In the fall we lost two uncles to natural causes. They were incredible men and one in particular I am so grateful to have known. I will carry them in my heart. In November my brother died in a car accident; the result of a decision by another to drink and drive. I continue to wrestle with the consequences of that person’s actions. I hope that I will learn whatever it is I must learn from this tragic event. One thing that is positive through the overwhelming grief is the outpouring of love and support my family has received and continues to receive from relatives and friends.

Despite grief and mourning I know that people in general are inherently good, so very good. I will take this thought with me as I journey forth into 2017 and wish you all a year of joy, peace, and all things good. Happy New Year!

2 thoughts on “New beginnings

Leave a Reply

