Yesterday my younger brother was killed in a tragic car accident. The pain is nearly unbearable. But I will remember his kindness, his generosity, and his humongous heart.  Most important to me right now is that his children, just beginning to tread the road into adulthood, know that their aunts, uncles, and cousins share their grief and their hurt. I pray they know how much they are loved.

He was killed in a head on collision just minutes from his home.  The other driver made the poor choice to drink and drive. Naturally my whole family is shocked by this news and many are justifiably angry. Too many people continue to make this choice never believing they may end up being responsible for taking a life or lives.

We are all mere humans – sometimes our choices lead to disastrous consequences both for ourselves and for others.  I cannot dwell on this now. Right now I need every ounce of strength to get through this. I do not have energy or the inclination to play the blame game. No amount of penalties or jail time for that driver who took my brother’s life will bring him back to us.

Today I will do my absolute best to let my loved ones know how important they are to me. I will pack a bag to make the trip to be with my family during this horrendous and senseless ordeal.

As I take part in this sacred dance I know the Divine will guide my steps and bless my pain transforming it into something sacred and good. Life is so very fragile. Hug your loved ones. Let them know you care. Enter into this sacred dance called life.

2 thoughts on “Sacred dance, sacred pain

  1. Beautiful Carol and there are so many of us mourning the death of Chris He was an awesome human being and will be missed so much God speed to all the family

    Like

Leave a Reply

