“Breathing air is a liberating experience. It freed our ancestors from the constraints of staying wet or having to remain within easy reach of water for refuge, respiration, or reproduction. But the biggest change it made in our lives was to expose us to a whole new range of sensory experience.” – Lyall Watson –

Sylvan Lake became our refuge and our sanctuary when we were evacuated from Fort McMurray in May because of the wildfires. It is a beautiful, peaceful spot and I felt like I had landed in a little piece of heaven.  Originally from Newfoundland, I am drawn to water, having spent my formative years living in a coastal community which overlooked the ocean. Walking the sidewalks that curved along the beach was restorative and glorious food for my soul.  Though not the ocean, the lake was wide enough and deep enough to satisfy my need to be near water. I was able to fill my lungs with pure sweet air, listen to the sounds of waves lapping against the beach, and gaze upon the lake’s ever changing beauty. Although I missed the scent of briny air the lake filled up my senses and soothed my spirit. And more than just the beautiful scenery can be had in Sylvan Lake, for the people there are kind, friendly, and compassionate. I will long remember our stay there with fondness and joy.

3 thoughts on “Our refuge & delight: Sylvan Lake, AB

Leave a Reply

