“Birds are a miracle because they prove to us there is a finer, simpler state of being which we may strive to attain.” – Douglas Coupland –

There is something about watching swans glide across a pond or lake that instills calm. They are so beautiful, so graceful.  Only the tamest of fowl will not take wing and fly off when one approaches, and swans seem to be the tamest and most fearless of all. Birds possess a certain beauty and majesty that appeals to me – they also possess an innate warning system that alerts them to my presence. For the most part when I am out and about with my camera and something attracts my attention I find myself holding my breath and stepping very carefully, making as little noise as possible as I try to creep up to get the shot. It has become almost a ritual, hugging the camera close to my chest as I stalk my prey.

By far the easiest birds to photograph are water fowl.  Most of the water birds pictured here are very common, and perhaps of little interest to many. Yet it is birds that have taught us much about the seasons. My spirit is lifted as winter turns to spring and I see and hear a robin chirping in the garden. And when the heat of summer begins to cool it is wild geese that warn of approaching winter as flocks begin to migrate south. The above quote resonates with me for who can argue that gliding serenely across still waters is a “fine and simple state” of existence.

Leave a Reply

