“A birthday is just the first day of another 365-day journey around the sun. Enjoy the trip.” – Author Unknown –

birthday

Birthdays – we only get one a year and I think they are well worth celebrating.  When I was a child my mother would celebrate my birthday by making me feel like I was queen for the day – no chores to do because I was the birthday girl! On “my day” I would get to choose what we had for supper – all my favorites, of course.  And naturally, a birthday cake; it is not the gifts that stand out in my memory but the way my mother made me feel so special and loved.

A close friend of mine had very different experiences – birthdays were nothing special, but just another day, unless you were a small child then much effort would be put into it.  Sadly this was not the case as a child grew older. Yet we are all unique and individual. I think that fact alone deserves a party!  My friend’s birthday is fast approaching and I wish I could bring something special to his day to let him know much I appreciate all the wonderful things about him. His thoughtfulness, kindness, compassion, loyalty, and many more awesome traits that make me so very grateful to have him in my life. I hope one day he comes to understand what a blessing he is to me and to all who know him. I hope one day he will realize his birthday is not just another day, but a day worth celebrating.

Leave a Reply

