“Until one has loved an animal, a part of one’s soul remains unawakened.” – Anatole France ….

LADY

When I left home I stayed with my brother and his family. Their family dog, Lady, became my anchor and my comfort when homesickness and loneliness would threaten to paralyze me. Every night she would come and stand by my bed grinning her doggy grin and wagging her tail waiting for my invitation to join me on the bed. For more nights than I can count I would drift off to sleep stroking her fur.. She had a sweet personality and was such a gentle soul. There was kindness and a world of love in her expressive brown eyes. It did not take long before she had me wrapped around her paw.

Sadly Lady is no longer with us. She has gone to the great beyond where other family pets and fur babies have preceded her. She joins Lucky, our dog of many years, as well as beloved cats, hamsters, budgies, and bunnies.

Perhaps only animal lovers will understand how saddened we are by Lady’s passing. Pets really do become part of the family. They offer love, loyalty, companionship, and comfort beyond that which can be offered by human friends for their love truly is unconditional and without judgment. We grieve their passing, and treasure their memories.

Leave a Reply

