“A lot of emotional stress that people go through, some people figure out a way to handle it. They have a strong enough support system to keep going and keep moving forward. And some people, they feel like they don’t have that outlet.” – Terrell Owens ….

STORM

 

Sometimes there just are no words. His gaze haunts me though, the man with the blue eyes and the intense expression. He had come to my desk for information – information I could not provide. He seemed very calm and sincere, but within moments he was uttering threats, scary threats.  They were not directed toward me or the people I work with – they concerned town council. And within minutes he was gone, leaving me wondering what to do. I stood there momentarily in shock. After collecting myself I followed protocol as set up by my employer.

Working with the public it comes with the territory – especially right now in Fort McMurray when emotions are running high as well as frustrations. Still, it makes me worry. I worry about my personal safety as well as the safety of my coworkers and the public at large.

So why was this man so angry? Within weeks following the evacuation caused by the wildfire members of the town council voted themselves a hefty raise, adding insult to the many injuries felt by those who have lost homes and so much more. This is not just bad taste, but objectionable on every level. I can hardly blame the man for his resentment and feelings of anger and rage. I cannot help but think of the levels of stress he must have been experiencing. He emphatically stated he would not pay taxes on a pile of ash. I can only surmise that he had received a tax bill on his property. I hope and pray he calmed down after he left my work place. I hope and pray for all the people who have lost homes or those whose homes sustained damages that they will receive all the help they need.

After the stress of the wildfire and the stress of evacuation many are suffering prolonged and extreme stress dealing with the fallout. May kind, compassionate, and helpful people accompany them as they weather out the storm.

Leave a Reply

