“I would rather walk with a friend in the dark, than alone in the light.”  – Helen Keller

MOON

She sent me a text message almost every day during the evacuation. She had lost her home to the wildfire that swept through Fort McMurray, yet she reached out to me – I had not lost anything of material value, and gained the friendship of a wise and wonderful woman.  I don’t think she realizes just how much those brief messages of support meant to me. On difficult days they helped me to keep going. On good days they helped cement my belief in the inherent goodness of humanity – and there were many, many examples of human goodness during the enforced evacuation. Blessings flowed like a soft and sweet summer rain upon parched souls. But this one person who lost everything gave everything. If I were to thank her she would brush my sentiments away. “I didn’t do much,” she’d say. I will be forever grateful for the messages of hope and friendship that sustained me, buoyed me up, and cemented a developing friendship that I will treasure. Little things matter so much more than people sometimes realize.

Leave a Reply

