RAINBOW

We leave tomorrow to make the trek back to the Mac. Others have already made that journey and have shared their experiences on social media. That helps. It gives me an idea of what to expect. I feel less anxious than I did even a week ago. Some of my fears have been allayed. I think I am most concerned about seeing burnt sections of forest, but from all accounts there is still a lot of greenery around the city.  I am so grateful for all the hard work of fire fighters. They will always hold a special place in my heart.

So today I will say good-bye to Sylvan Lake. It has been balm for my soul this past month. Walking along the lake has been healing and I am very grateful for having had this oasis. I have no idea what the future holds, and that’s okay. I am going home, and ever-thankful I have a home to return to; so as we drive up the highway back to Fort McMurray I will be praying for all the families left homeless and rudderless. It will be a bitter-sweet journey. I will begin the process of paying forward all the kindnesses extended to me and my family, firstly by doing what I can to help rebuild the place I’ve grown to love. Home is where the heart is and my heart is back in the Mac.

2 thoughts on “Moving Forward: Back to the Mac

Leave a Reply

