Graveyard

Black fingers reaching up into a blue sky

Blankets of ash cover the graves

Heart ripped in two as my gaze surveys the land

Bird song quieted – a silent memorial

The trees stand like dark sentinels

Guarding precious seeds sown before the fire came

New life will come

The birds will sing

But for now, this present day, I grieve

Nature replenishes itself, I know

Leaves will once again whisper secrets to the wind

And the pines will once more be evergreen

One day

But for now, this present day, I grieve

One thought on “I grieve

  1. It’s the best time to make some plans for the future and
    it is time to be happy. I’ve learn this post and if
    I may I want to counsel you few interesting things or suggestions.
    Maybe you can write subsequent articles regarding this article.
    I want to read even more issues approximately it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

