It is chilly and pouring rain at Sylvan Lake this morning. The other morning we woke up to a dusting of snow on the ground. At one time that would have depressed me, but after the wildfire in Fort McMurray I look at rain and snow much differently now. As one evacuee said, “I will never complain about shoveling snow ever again!”  We are heading out to Banff today and I have to admit I was hoping for a bit of sun so I could get photos of the stunning beauty of the mountains. However, the rain is much needed after a winter of little snow and while the sun glinting on the mountaintops is lovely, so too is a raindrop on an open leaf.

There is something about natural disasters that brings home all that is truly important in life. Family, friends, pets, nature – they have always been important to me, but now– well, I hug my loved ones tighter. I am more patient and less inclined to give much thought to things more shallow, and in the greater scheme of things, of little worth.

I am grateful. I am grateful for the blessings of family and friends and fur babies; for the kindnesses extended not just to me personally but to all evacuees; for being able to witness this outpouring of human goodness.  Life can be challenging at times but life is also very, very good!

Leave a Reply

