“So here it is Christmas, and what have you done?”  That tune keeps playing in my head urging me to find an answer to this very important question. I am working on a paper about International Issues at the moment. As I sit in my warm and comfortable home, well-fed and with more than a moderate amount of clothing, all of my needs are met. Unfortunately this is not the case for the large majority of this world’s population.

So as refugees flood neighbouring countries in Africa and the Middle East I ask myself: what can we do as individuals? This is what I have come up with: become aware of the issues; donate time, volunteer; donate monies, if you can; write letters to your government representatives voicing your concerns. Do something locally, for example, donate to the local food bank.

This phrase  resonates with me: “There, but for the grace of God, go I”.

Leave a Reply

